Christian Heritage Academy is an independent, parent-governed school, and all current CHA parents, administrators, and full-time faculty and staff, are automatically members of the Christian Heritage Academy Association. Though not affiliated with a denomination or organization, we cherish our unity in Christ and praise God for His faithfulness throughout our school’s history. Many Christian churches are represented among our student body, diverse in practice, yet unified in the truth and supremacy of God’s Word.

The Association, typically meets twice per year (fall and spring). Its key responsibilities are to elect candidates to the CHA Board of Directors and to approve the annual budget. Additional matters may also come before the membership as they may arise, including reporting from the Board on the state of the school, and information and voting on various other topics.

CHA Board of Directors is the governing body of the school. Board members, whose numbers range from nine to fifteen, annually elect officers to serve as President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary. Members of the Board may also serve as chairs and members of various committees/commissions. The CHA Bylaws spell out the primary functions of the Board:

“The affairs, business and all legal matters of the Corporation shall be managed by its Board of Directors, including responsibility for strategic planning, policy making, fundraising, budget oversight, spiritual leadership and directing the Head of School. The Board of Directors shall help set the spiritual tone for the school. Members of the Board of Directors shall individually and corporately pray for the administration, faculty, staff, parents and children of the school. They will be inclined to prayer, ever mindful of their own dependence upon God for His grace and wisdom manifest in their leadership.”

Parents are welcome to address the Board of Directors with concerns and to volunteer to be nominated for election to the Board of Directors, or serve on committees and commissions.

The President attends all meetings of the Board of Directors, and works closely with the Board, functioning as executive adviser and administrative leader of the school.

Board of Directors

  • Hutz Hertzberg, DMin, PhD
    Hutz Hertzberg, DMin, PhD President
  • Gil de las Alas
    Gil de las Alas President
  • Tim Dinkelman
    Tim Dinkelman Treasurer
  • Tom Chung
    Tom Chung Vice President / Secretary
  • Shinna Alava
    Shinna Alava
  • Tim Brady
    Tim Brady
  • Alisa Burkey
    Alisa Burkey
  • Jiyoung Kim
    Jiyoung Kim
  • Felix Mathew
    Felix Mathew
  • Laura McGowan
    Laura McGowan
  • Tim Pappageorge
    Tim Pappageorge
  • Stephen Thomas
    Stephen Thomas

Start typing and press Enter to search